Yeung, Mau Lam Zenith

Free and Lost – This is not art. It’s just a decoration or visual image.
Oil on canvas
120 x 140cm
2014
 
Zenith Yeung graduated from the Academy of Visual Arts, Hong Kong Baptist University. He currently works as a full time designer. Yeung is fascinated with art and design and is often inspired by daily experiences, dreams and the nature. He favours oil paints and acrylics, but he also enjoys graphic design and photography.

 
Artwork Statement
The concept comes from the experience of people going to exhibition. We always can see the general public discussing what art is in the event. Most of them think that painting must be art. Painting and drawing are equal to art. They think that the works displayed at the gallery or in exhibition must be art too. So how about other types of art, such as installation, video, photography? They always challenge them.
 
What is the meaning of art to them? Maybe it is just the decoration or the image. Then, I create my work by using a landscape painting. The painting stays in the state of a decoration or visual with poor content or meaning. And tell that it is not art while the painting displaying in art space. I want to create questions and contradiction to people. Let them think more about the artwork and the space, and the relationship between the artwork and the people.

楊茂林

Free and Lost – 這不是藝術,這只是一個裝飾或影像。
油彩布本
120 x 140 厘米
2014
 
楊茂林畢業於香港浸會大學視覺藝術院,現為全職設計師。楊氏喜歡設計和藝術,經常從生活、夢境及大自然中獲取靈感,其創作媒介以油畫和塑膠彩為主,亦涉獵平面設計及攝影。楊氏希望在閒暇時繼續創作,嘗試更多不同作品。
 
作品陳述
作品概念來自人們去展覽看作品的經驗。 大部分人眼中素描與繪畫無庸置疑與藝術畫上等號,擺放在畫廊的作品自然也必定是藝術作品。而一些類型如裝置藝術、錄像、攝影等卻經常受到質疑。
 
藝術的意義是什麼呢?或者對一般人來說只是裝飾品,或是形像的一種。所以我的作品是以一幅沒有特別內容的畫展示於一個藝術空間內,並否定它是藝術,打破觀眾一如以往的理所當然,從而製造反差矛盾,刺激人們思考作品與空間,及作品與人之間的關係。