Chan, Sui Ying Zaffer

Floating Between the Lilly
Ink and colour on paper (Original)
70 x 160cm (Original)
2014
 

Zaffer Chan graduated from the Department of Fine Arts, The Chinese University of Hong Kong. Chan captures the delicate, fleeting emotions and surreal visions in the four seasons, and translates such emotions and seasonal transformation into intrinsic relationships. Riding on imagination, she delineates ambiguous emotional and spiritual contexts and depicts the interrelationship of people and the nature as ink landscapes.
 
Chan received various awards during her studies. These have included a Hong Kong Chinese Meticulous Painting Association Creative Award in 2012, Wucius Wong Modern Ink Painting Award in 2013 and Grotto Fine Art Award in 2014. She has held local and overseas solo exhibitions and participated in joint exhibitions. Many of her works are collected by private collectors.

 

Artwork Statement
Floating between the Lilly was inspired by a festival ceremony in Kyoto, Japan. A piece of long silky fabric, which represents love and time, follows the flow of the Kamo River amid a stream of black lilies which in turn symbolise love’s obsession.

陳瑞瑩

禪流百合
水墨設色紙本(原作)
70 x 160 厘米(原作)
2014
 

陳瑞瑩畢業於中文大學藝術系,擅於捕捉細膩情感與季節間的自然異象,並將稍縱即逝的感情脈絡與節氣更替化為隱喻,指涉各類微妙的關係。透過聯想寫景、造境,勾勒起曖昧不明的關係與情愫,繪成情境兼備的水墨山水。
 

陳氏於修業期間曾幾度獲獎,包括2012年香港工筆畫會創作獎、2013年王無邪現代水墨創作獎及2014年嘉圖藝術創作獎。陳氏曾在本地及海外舉辦個人展覽及參與聯展,作品多為私人收藏。

 

作品陳述
禪流百合 取材於日本京都,遊歷鴨川時目到京友禪祭典,綿長的布料散下溪流,隨水擺動。禪流百合中的紅豔布衣指涉愛情及時間,黑百合花語作執迷的愛戀。